You Can Always Go Home Again For A Moment..Or Longer

My wife posed a question to me recently during a trip home to South Carolina.

“Where would you want to retire?” she asked.

All of a sudden the idea light went on above my head.  When you’re from the historic city of Charleston, that light tends to look a little like this:

lantern

Why not end where it began?  I often tell people who visit Charleston to be careful.  That’s because once they get there, they may find themselves not wanting to leave.  The sights from the Battery can entice you for hours on end.

battery

Heck..even the driveways have a touch of style.

driveway

A small friend can even walk up to you on a local pier to say “Hello.”

bird

I left there in 2002.  People have always asked me, “If Charleston is so great, then why did you leave?”  The answer is simple.  Even those who live in great cities want to know what else is out there.  It’s true that the Charleston I knew in 2002 is not the same city of 2015.  Explosions of hotels, restaurants and tourist-oriented business are among the changes.   In January…even the Mayor will change after 40 years (Thanks, Joe Riley for what you’ve done for the city).

But when you go back…as Karen and I did…it still feels like home.

Gandme

My wife continually tells me that where we are now is not our last stop.  I’m convinced she’s right.

I don’t normally quote Swiss writers and philosophers but Pascal Mercier once wrote these words:

“We leave something of ourselves behind when we leave a place, we stay there, even though we go away. And there are things in us that we can find again only by going back there.”

We shall see.

One thought on “You Can Always Go Home Again For A Moment..Or Longer

  1. Love your article and MY niece looking cool, and so does her hubby 🙂 It is great to see different places in your lifetime. I love the time (years) that I spent in California 🙂

    Like

I'd Love To Hear From You

