The Kitchen Chronicles (Kind Of)

I’m not a chef..nor do I play one on TV.

But because I work into the early part of the evenings during the week, every so often I like to step into foreign territory for me — the kitchen — to help my wife (or at least that’s what I call it) whip up a little dinner.

This past weekend was one of those weekends.

On Friday..we decided to cook up a couple of salmon steaks for dinner.   I had the idea to use the foil packet method to cook it.  So after Karen let the salmon sit overnight in Lawry’s Baja Chipotle marinade…we broke up some ramen noodles on the bottom of the foil, dropped in some shallots (a bit milder than an onion), added some lemon juice and popped the salmon on top.  We closed it up and baked it at 400 degrees for about 25-30 minutes.

SalmonbeforeThe salmon before cooking (Courtesy: KReative Works)

Below is the magic..and it was yummy!

SajmonafterThe salmon after (Courtesy: KReative Works)

On to Saturday.

Because of my tendency in my pre-marriage life to fire up the slow cooker on many occasions, my wife has taken to calling me “The Crock Pot King”.  I decided to try something: beer brats..in the crock pot!  I browned the brats first with some shallots and minced garlic.  Then they went into the slow cooker with two bottles of beer poured over (any brand will do).  Set it on low for about 6-7 hours (or do like I did and go on high for 3-3.5 hours.

Karen put together a nice black bean and chickpea salad and …Viola!

bratsCrock Pot Beer Brats (Courtesy: KReative Works)

I love cooking with my wife.  I don’t do it often enough.

I have learned that if I don’t pull out the crock pot more often, they may make me abdicate my throne.

We can’t have that.

2 thoughts on “The Kitchen Chronicles (Kind Of)

I'd Love To Hear From You

