Why Would Anyone Want To Do This??!!

“There’s a big difference between the words, ‘naked’ and ‘nekkid.’ ‘Naked’ means you don’t have any clothes on. ‘Nekkid’ means you don’t have any clothes on – and you’re up to something.”

–Lewis Grizzard (1946-1994)

Flipping through the channels on last weekend, I landed on the Discovery Channel reality show ‘Naked and Afraid’.

Really??!!

So let me get this straight.  The people behind the show pick these places where no one can live (or wants to) anyway.   A man and a woman are picked to go to this place and try to survive for three weeks.   That’s enough to just say, “Hell No!”

Oh, did I mention…no food, no water, and no clothes!

It’s interesting to watch.  Don’t get me wrong.  But this is something I would never think to do.  I don’t swim..so I would never even be considered for this show.  Even if I could, I would have to be out of my mind to do it.

Looking at several episodes of this show, I realize that I am not alone in my thought.  I would actually be eager to see the first of my ethnicity try to tackle this challenge.  I am African-American.  I know there are some of us out there who could do it.  But would we?

No.

I hope the producers — when the first black man or woman decide to do this — promote the heck out of it.  I want to watch that show.  My hat would be off to them for even trying it.

Oh by the way..the producers should make sure the censors don’t have the day off for the first show with an African-American participant.  The language is likely to be as salty as sea water.

 

I'd Love To Hear From You

